Once children can recognise the sounds in words, they learn to map these sounds (phonemes) to the letters (graphemes). Phonics is the process of learning common sound and letter relationships to decode (read) and encode (spell).

English is a complex alphabetic code with 44 sounds and 26 letters and hundreds of graphemes. Little Learners Love Literacy® teaches the alphabetic code in seven stages, starting with a simple one-to-one match of sounds and letters before moving onto to the more complex code.

The sound /k/ can be represented by these graphemes:
c as in cat (Stage 1)
k as in kit (Stage 4)
ck as in pick (Stage 5)
ch as in school (Stage 7.4)
And many more, less common options such as qu as in mosquito.

Little Learners Love Literacy® is an explicit and sequential phonics program. It explicitly introduces phonemes and corresponding graphemes and teaches children how to blend these phonemes together to read words. Children apply and practise their phonic knowledge and skills by reading the Little Learners decodable books. We currently have two decodable series: Pip and Tim, and The Wiz Kids. We call these the 'secret ingredient' to success and children call them the 'no tricks' books. These books only have words with the phonemes/graphemes the children have learnt. That is why children LOVE them!